4 thoughts on “Trip to Muju

  1. Hey,

    I’m considering applying for the TaLK program, but am finding it quite hard to find out more stuff about it from people who have actually been on it. Eventually though I found your blog – would you mind if I asked you a few questions?

    1) In the program info it says that there are generally 3 hours of teaching per day, in addition to other activities organised by the school and the community – how many hours did you end up working per day on average? Because although only 3 hours a day sounds great, I’m worried that it will end up being like 8 hours with all the other activities on top.

    2) In the general information, it says that ‘TaLK scholars are not permitted to engage in any activities non-related to TaLK’. Did you have any problems with wanting to do extra-curricular activities, like learning korean or something?

    3) Did you have a co-teacher to help you teach?

    4) What were your host family like (if you stayed with one)? Did they speak much English?

    5) Were there many other english-speaking teachers in your town?

    6) What’s it like teaching elementary school students? I’ve only ever taught at college level.

    If you could answer these questions it would be incredible. I’m really interested in going to Korea next year, and am seeing what different opportunities there are available.
    Thank you so much,
    J

    • James,

      1) The amount of time you work really depends on your school. My school likes be to be there an hour before my first class and I can leave as soon as my classes are finished. A typical schedule for me is from 12pm-4pm. However I have friends who have to be at school from 9-5… they only teach for the 3 hours and desk warm for the rest of the time. Others I know work 4 hours a day and get a 3 day weekend. For most scholars I believe they only have you at school for 3~4 hours a day.

      2) I think this just means that your not allowed to have another job or tutor/teach on the side. I know plenty of people who take Korean lessons, Taekwondo, etc.. Just make sure it doesn’t interfere with your teaching schedule.

      3) Yes, I did get a Korean TaLK scholar… This can vary though I have friends who didn’t get a Korean TaLK scholar, but they said that one of the other teachers would come in and help.

      4) I didn’t get a host family… I’ve never heard of a scholar being placed with a host family.. Most get studio apartments or live in dorms.

      5) I’m actually in one of the smaller counties within Chungnam province, but I am lucky to live near 20 other foreign teachers… both EPIK and TaLK

      6) Teaching elementary students can be fun and a bit difficult. Being children they have a short attention spans so it’s best to prepare a lot of fun activities~

      If you have anymore questions feel free to ask~^^

      • Oh wow, thank you so much for your quick reply. I’m a graduate so I’m trying to decide between TaLK and EPiK. One of my motives for going is to learn some Korean, so I thought the extra free time with TaLK would be great for that. However, it seems like such a gamble of whether you get any, and if I was in school 9-5 I may as well be doing EPiK and getting paid more. But on the other hand you’re in a rural area which is good and I can see teaching in an elementary school being so fun! Hmmmmmm. What did your friends doing EPiK and TaLK think of it? Which do you sounds better? And if you went again what would you choose?

        Thanks a lot, you’ve been really helpful.
        J

      • Hmm.. you can always sign a 6mo contract to test it out and see how you like it. There are a lot of TaLK scholars that do just that and I’d probably do that as well. One thing about TaLK is that it gives you a chance to make friends and they put you through a bit of teacher training. Thats something that EPIK doesn’t get.. they are usually just placed at their schools to immediately start teaching. About the 9-5 I really only know of one scholar who had to do this.. which maybe because she lives far from her school.

Leave a comment